Soldering on.

I finally learned how to solder! I am almost done making my first pair of earrings and am quite shocked they aren’t an embarrassment. I will actually wear them because I like them — not just because I’m proud of myself. I filed and soldered for almost an hour and it wasn’t until afterwards that I realized I hadn’t been self-conscious at my little work station. I was only doing my thing, nothing more, nothing less. I don’t want to think about what I wasn’t thinking about.

When I’m engaged in my hands-on “stuff,” like cooking, painting or jewelry-making, my brain retreats into the way back of my skull, takes a deep breath, and sleeps deeply. Passes out, honestly. Happiness is doing without thinking. Driving. Reading. Watching a good movie. Getting the hell out of one’s own way. It’s technically called “flow,” but that doesn’t really matter. I don’t need it to have a name.

One thought on “Soldering on.

Leave a Reply

